[Admin] RE: [thelist] FW
Daniel J. Cody
dcody at oracular.com
Mon, 20 Dec 1999 09:51:57 -0600
Just wanted to let everyone know what was up with this..
aardvark wrote:
>
> is this a subbed address?
No..
> if it is, is it no longer subbed?
> if it isn't, how'd it get through?
I dont have hardcore checking on for who can send an email.. *shrug*
I did turn it on last August(I cant find the link in the archive ATM
though) but there was a ton of problems with people's posts not going
through, because they didnt come from the email address that one was
actually subscribed at.
For example, lets say joe blow is subb'ed as joeblow@isp.com - when I
did turn on hard checking last summer, I found that a lot of peoples
email were getting caught in MG's spam filters because they weren't
coming from joeblow@isp.com - rather, *many* people on our little list
here have joeblow@isp.com forward to sexyjoeblow69@aol.com and when they
try to post from there, the spam filters catch it, and I have to approve
it manually(which obviously can suck :)
So, ya I could go back to the hard checking(where an email doesnt get
through unless it matches exactly what you're subbed at), but it would
take some cooperation from everyone else :)
Actually, this is the first spam we've gotten in 9 months, so we're not
at crisis level yet(although it indeed bugs the shit out of me
regardless)..
So, if anyone has an opinion one way or another, let me know and we'll
work something out..
.djc.