SV: [thelist] yahooligans + DI
Steve Cook
sck at biljettpoolen.se
Thu May 11 02:29:33 2000
Besides, I seem to recall that a couple of years ago, if you typed in http://www.altavista.com you came to some computing consultancy who happened to have had the name altavista before the search engine. They even had a "You may be looking for http://www.altavista.digital.com" link on their pages.
I guess Altavaista must have paid them a fair sum to get the name, which seems fair, as these people were obviously *not* domain squatters, they had simply been using the name when suddenly a successful search engine sprang up with the same name. I wonder how long altavista.org have had *their* name?
.steve
http://wapwarp.com
http://www.biljettpoolen.se
(Back from the dead!!)
----- Original Message -----
From: Aylard JA (James) <jaylard@equilon.com>
To: <thelist@lists.evolt.org>
Sent: Wednesday, May 10, 2000 9:23 PM
Subject: RE: [thelist] yahooligans + DI
> Erika Meyer wrote:
> > Speaking of domain issues, what about these folks?
> > http://www.altavista.org
>
> Whatever your opinion of the site's content, this seems like a
> completely legitimate use of the domain name. The site makes no effort to
> mimic its namesake search engine, and it is appropriate for a church, as a
> non-profit entity, to use ".org".
>
> James Aylard
> jaylard@equilon.com