[thelist] Quickie rant about Verio.

viveka me at karmanaut.com
Thu Mar 15 17:32:11 CST 2001

At 1:33 PM -0800 15/3/01, Joe Crawford wrote:
>Traditionally it's been taboo to use the whois database for marketing
>purposes, that it is being used is inevitable, but it don't mean I can't
>get huffy about it. ^_^
>It's another strike against Verio as a bunch of idiots. Think how much
>ill-will they have generated from me.
>I also wonder if I buy a domain through dotster for a client - will my
>client be fending off phone calls from Verio? That kind of shit annoys

This is why i use GANDI - http://www.gandi.net/
They're French. So my information in their database
is protected under European Union provacy law,
which is by far the best in the world (whois isn't a
single database anymore - each registrar keeps their
own, and a good whois query will search them all).

Search for planet-earth.org at http://whois.userland.com/
And you get, in part:

% GANDI Registrar whois database for .COM, .NET, .ORG.
% Access and use restricted pursuant to French law on personal data.

They're not the absolute cheapest, but 12 euros a year is a
pretty good deal. Euros are roughly equivalent to US dollars,
by the way. I like them coz of the privacy thing, coz you can
administer your domain on their website and their database
is uodated _instantly_ (as compared to the days-long lag at
Network Solutions), and coz their legal agreement is clear
and unequivocal that _you _ are the sole owner of your
domain. Too many other cheap registrars imply that they
have some kind of claim over it.

% The sole owner of a domain is the entity described in the relevant
% 'domain:' record.



|  Viveka Weiley, Karmanaut.	 http://www.karmanaut.com
|  hypermedia :: virtual worlds :: human interface :: truth :: beauty
|  http://www.planet-earth.org :: http://www.MacWeb3D.org
|  http://www.sydney.siggraph.org.au

More information about the thelist mailing list