[thelist] phony ebay scam? Security of info on the web (with tip)

Tom Dell'Aringa pixelmech at yahoo.com
Mon Feb 24 15:05:01 CST 2003

--- ".jeff" <jeff at members.evolt.org> wrote:
> tom,
> ><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><
> > From: Tom Dell'Aringa
> >
> > Read the first entry for the 23rd. This is their basic
> > response to it. Since the phony URL in the email has
> > http://cgi3.ebay... according to their page it must
> > be a false site.
> ><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><
> sorry, but this is a big, stinky pile of bullsh!t.  they simply are
> not enumerating all the valid addresses in their posting.
> cgi3.ebay.com has been a valid subdomain for ages.  they even talk
> about it as a valid url on their security page:

Right, makes sense. What irks me the most about this is the
"technician" on the phone didn't know enough to tell me one way or
the other. I suspected it might be okay, but I asked her "Is
http://cgi3.ebay... a valid address?" And all I got was silence, she
had NO idea.

> i still think the email your relative received was genuinely from
> ebay.  the proof is in the headers of that email.

When I get home I will check them, this is POing me off :P

Sorry about the ot thread.


var me = tom.pixelmech.webDeveloper();

[Making A Commercial Case for Adopting Web Standards]

Do you Yahoo!?
Yahoo! Tax Center - forms, calculators, tips, more

More information about the thelist mailing list