[thelist] Mysterious websites and referers

Roel Mulder roel.mulder at gmail.com
Thu Apr 28 16:13:33 CDT 2005

Thanks guys,
This relation to SE's confirms my suspicion, for these websites are
clearly not developed for human beings. Let's take it that this
implies I can consider it an honour that our website is deemed worthy
to be (mis)used. So, I'm off fiddling with .htaccess.


On 4/28/05, Maximillian Schwanekamp <lists at neptunewebworks.com> wrote:
> Roel Mulder wrote:
> > - Does anyone else find referers like these?
> > - Why would anybody take the trouble operating those websites?
> > - How come requests originate from those websites without hyperlinks
> > to the requested website?
> Referer spam.  Stupid attempt to get website owners looking at their
> traffic logs to go "hrm, what's that? <click>."  Also it gives links to
> their spammy domain from sites that make their logs public.
> http://www.google.com/search?q=referer+spam
> --
> Maximillian Von Schwanekamp
> http://www.neptunewebworks.com/

More information about the thelist mailing list