[thelist] security certificate

marianna wemac2 at pacbell.net
Wed Oct 3 16:35:16 CDT 2007

hi robert-

true, that i get links without www when i look at page info at feed-back.com
but when i go to www.feed-back.com you will see that the links all have the
www included in the get page info file. i think i always include www.

but the problem was the configure file in the zen-cart. i was told by a
bluehost tech that the changes made to this file looked like they were
saved, but actually were not cause the file was read only. am i making
sense? this is where one enables the ssl to true and defines the hhtp and
https server.

thanks for the responses,

Robert Carpenter wrote:

> Take a look at the links and media within the document - in Firefox you can
> do this via Page Info.
> You'll see that several of your linked items - style sheets, images - are
> specifying "feed-back.com" rather than "www.feed-back.com". That is what is
> causing the issue with the certificate.
> Also be aware that you'll get similar warnings with any links within your
> stylesheets, for background-images and such.
> Hope that helps!
> -Robert-
>> hi everyone-
>> i am a beginner hoping to find some help here.
>> we host with bluehost whose server got hacked last friday and it has been
>> nothing but headaches since then. part of the site is a zen shopping cart
>> and now after i got almost everything back as it was before friday, we run
>> into the following issue:
>> at the site http://www.feed-back.com there is a link on the right to the
>> shopping cart. when clicking this link in internet explorer (any version it
>> seems), a warning comes up regarding the certificate. i am on a mac, and my
>> warning on internet explorer is a bit different then the one on a pc, but
>> basically it seems to warn the viewer that there is a problem with the
>> security certificate on this site.
>> in firefox, one gets the following message: you have attempted to establish
>> a connection with ³feed-back.com². However, the security certificate
>> presented belongs to ³www.feed-back.com². it is possible, though unlikely,
>> that someone may be trying to intercept your communication with this web
>> site....
>> i talked to bluehost and they can¹t figure out what is wrong. they say the
>> certificate is valid and they removed and re-installed it several times
>> without results.

More information about the thelist mailing list