[thelist] Fraudulent Citibank E-mail [Fwd: Your Checking Account at Citibank.]

Norman MacLeod gaelwolf at waypt.com
Sat Aug 16 10:39:47 CDT 2003

I received it and called Citibank Customer Service.  They are aware of it,
and are trying to trace it back to source, and are testing on an isolated
machine to see what might happen when the link is clicked.  Not wishing to
do that myself...I deleted the message each time it came to me.

I've alerted all of my clients not to click on the link, since there's no
clear word on what that will do to/for you.

The images in the message are hosted on a server in Florida at a business
that doesn't do business at the weekend, which is going to make it hard for
Citibank to contact the owner...


-----Original Message-----
From: thelist-bounces at lists.evolt.org
[mailto:thelist-bounces at lists.evolt.org] On Behalf Of Joel Konkle-Parker
Sent: Saturday, August 16, 2003 3:10 AM
To: thelist at lists.evolt.org

Attached is a very convincing but fraudulent e-mail claiming to be from
Citibank. Has anyone else gotten this? I've alerted Citi to the problem (I
think, if I got the e-mail address right).

Joel Konkle-Parker
Webmaster [Ballsome.com]

Phone     [662-518-1636]
E-mail    [jjk3 at msstate.edu]

More information about the thelist mailing list