[thechat] joe job

DESCHAMPS Stéphane DSI/SICOR stephane.deschamps at francetelecom.com
Thu Nov 13 10:26:01 CST 2003

> Hi folks.
> I'm the victim of a "joe job". Some piece of dreck is sending 
> out mail, 
> forging headers to make it look like it's coming from bobdavis.org.  
> You might have already deleted one!
> I don't think there's anything I can do about it - is there?  
> I'm only 
> worried about some n00b with half a brain trying to kill me because 
> someone is sending mail through an open relay in 
> Korea/China/Brazil/Ukraine with a return address of 
> viagra at bobdavis.org.
> Any ideas about what I can do? (if anything)


Everyday I get emails from admin at nota-bene.org, john at nota-bene.org and james at nota-bene.org, which is funny because like you it's my domain and there are only two valid email addresses, mine and my girlfriend's.

I had not thought about this sh*t sending itself to other people too. I'll talk with a friend who's into security. I'll let you know if we stumble upon an interesting idea.

s t e f

More information about the thechat mailing list